My Favorite Workout App

So, there are quite a few workout apps out there; I would constantly find myself in the app store looking for something better- until I discovered Nike Training app.

img_2199.jpg

Before becoming a mom, I LOVED going to the gym – and that hasn’t changed, but my availability has, so in the last year, I’ve relied heavily on this app.  From having my 1-year old, my husband, a house with a very playful Frenchie, and a full-time job; there just isn’t time for the gym some days, but that doesn’t mean I don’t want a good workout.  I’ve had this app for over year, but I’ve used it a lot more in the past 12 months.

This app has it all when it comes to workouts, from a variety of lengths to the intensity of the workout you’re looking for.

Let’s start with the length of the workouts they offer; the shortest workouts are 5 minutes and the longest, I’ve found, are 47 minutes.  There isn’t just one-5 minute workout, they have a handful of workouts for each length of time. It’s been a year and I haven’t been able to hit all of their workouts yet.

 

img_2197.png

 

You choose your type of workout from strength, endurance, or mobility.  You choose whether you want to use basic equipment (dumbbells, kettleball, etc.), full gym equipment (if you have it available), or body weight only.  Each category offers a range of lengths of workout time (5 minutes – 47 minutes max).

Now for the variety of workouts that are offered, the intensity of the workouts range from low, moderate, and intense; you choose how hard you want to work.

The level of the workout is displayed once you select your workout: beginner, intermediate, advance…pick the level you feel comfortable with. I usually select intermediate or advance, if I’m feeling like pushing my potential a bit more.

img_2196.png

Another feature this app offers, which I actually haven’t taken advantage as much, is ‘My Plan’ where you can schedule your workouts in weeks length. In case you need that extra push.  When you select a plan, it’ll send you reminders on the days you have a workout scheduled (this can also be modified if time doesn’t permit). My favorite plan is ‘Bodyweight Only’- it’s my go-to.

img_2198.png

Another really nice feature is the video walk-through feature. Once you’ve selected your workout, they will guide you through it till the end.  The move is explained and a video clip will show you how to do the move, so you can follow with the right posture (posture is key!) 

There’s also a community option to help you find people to keep motivated. The app keeps track of the workouts you’ve completed.

Here’s what it does lack, a calorie tracker. I personally don’t care about a feature like this, but I know people who do. I hate counting calories!

Another lacking feature, healthy recipes. I wouldn’t mind this at all, but I truly don’t know how much I would use it. I have other recipe apps, and I don’t really utilize them. Would be nice, tho!

This is my favorite workout app. If you have your own, I want to know about it! Comment below….

One thought on “My Favorite Workout App

Leave a comment