Matthew’s Cactus Themed B-day Party

I have this mini obsession with cactus/succulents, so while browsing Pinterest, I saw a lot of cute Cactus decorations- and so his 1st birthday party theme was set. I figured it’s now or never, he can’t say “No, I want Spider-man!”

img_6915

I did have to keep things a bit toned down, because I do feel it can turn into a very girly theme.

Center pieces were 6 succulents gathered in a tin container, which at the end of the day guest got to take them home (I’m obsessed, but I have limited space).

img_6917.jpg

We had a watermelon cut in the shape of a cactus w/ a fruit bowl on the opposite side. Thanks to my brother’s girlfriend, for taking on this task! (Note: I would recommend cutting the watermelon the day of display. We cut the watermelon the day before, and by the next day, the cactus was being weighed down by its own weight. Still looked good, but below is a pic of is recently cut.)

img_1306.jpg

Cakes and cookies were from Baked in Chicago.  For the cakes, I wanted something very simple, yet delicious and that is exactly what they delivered.  One of the cakes was a marble and the other old fashioned chocolate cake; the cakes were a huge hit! The cookies were primarily for decoration.

img_7000

img_1948

We had a bouncy house for kids to entertain themselves.  Also, had a pinata for the kids to release some frustration, not surprisingly, we had some adults who also wanted to join in on the destruction of the pinata.

img_6946

…and now I have a one-year old!!

img_6928

 

Leave a Reply

