Food Diaries

‘One bad meal won’t make you fat, just like one good meal won’t make you skinny’ I love this quote because it is so true.

Approximately 7 years ago, I switched to a healthier lifestyle (later, Cheetos). Now, this didn’t happen over night, and I definitely stray away at times, but I’ve always return to my healthier ways.  I get asked “what do you eat?” quite often, so this post summarizes what a normal day for me looks like in the food department.

Breakfast… Monday thru Friday, my mornings are always rushed and there’s little prep time available.

img_1009-e1501614989696.jpg

Whole wheat toast or waffle are my breakfast staple item. I usually add peanut butter and jelly, honey, or cream cheese.  I am a creature of habit with my breakfast…oh yeah and my one cup of coffee.  I don’t add sugar only vanilla coffee creamer.

Snacks…I start to get hunger pangs around 10-11 am.  My go-to is either some kind of protein bar, yogurt, or protein smoothie.

img_4756

Lunch… I usually go for a salad or some kind of wrap- side note…I LOVE WRAPS.

img_1208

Snack again…At around 3-4 p.m. I’m starting to feel a bit hungry again, so I usually have some type of fruit…usually an apple or a cheese stick. This will usually tame my hunger until I get home.

Once I make it home around 5:30-6 p.m., I search the fridge for something to eat. I like to have roasted vegetable or hard boiled eggs in the fridge at all times. If I don’t find something quickly, I can easily move over to my pantry, where we keep chips, cookies, and candy.  I like to call this my pre-workout snack, so it’s pretty important that I don’t fill up on cookies – there’s a slight chance I might get sluggish and refuse to workout after the cookie binge.

After eating something, hopefully, nutritional, I’ll find sometime to workout. After my workout, I have a protein shake, which if you ask me – is the best part of a workout!

Dinner… Food is usually prepped ahead of time. Sundays is when I cook large portions of food to last the week (although we usually run out before). I usually heat up any items that are in the fridge. Some of the stuff that will usually be in my fridge: chicken (of course), salmon, quinoa or some type of starch (but I like quinoa), salads, roasted veggies (yes, I will eat these again).  I keep veggie burgers in the freezer, which are also very popular in my house. If nothing looks appetizing in the fridge…veggie burger will surely be plan B or cereal….We love cereal ; )

 

Leave a Reply

